LAT elects Peyton Ritter as president

Chris Rivers of Parker’s Building Supply and Cason Shrode of Cassity Jones Building Materials join the LAT’s Executive Committee.
Peyton Ritter LAT
Peyton Ritter

The Lumbermen’s Association of Texas (LAT) announced that Peyton Ritter has been elected as President of the LAT Board of Directors. 

In addition, Chris Rivers, President at Parker’s Building Supply and Cason Shrode, CEO at Cassity Jones Building Materials, have joined LAT’s Executive Committee as Second Vice President and Sergeant at Arms.   

“The LAT membership leads the Texas lumber and building materials industry,” said Peyton Ritter, president at Ritter Lumber Company in Nederland, Texas.  “As your president, I am focused on positioning our industry for success during the upcoming session of the Texas Legislature as the decisions made will impact every single one of our businesses.”

Chris Rivers
Chris Rivers

“Serving as a LAT Director continues to be a valuable investment of time and I look forward to working with the Executive Committee to support Mireya and to help lead our association,” said Chris Rivers, president at Parker’s Building Supply in Beaumont.  “It is also the time for the next generations of leaders to get engaged in our work so that we can protect and grow the Texas economy.” 

“LAT continues to be at the forefront of creating a future that is supportive of Texas Dealers and we need the LBM industry to engage and invest in our work,” said Cason Shrode, CEO at Cassidy Jones Building Materials in Longview.  “Our trade association uniquely provides a way for us to collaborate to grow our industry while respecting our individuality and competitiveness.”

Caron Shrode LAT
Caron Shrode

“We are delivering results for our membership because of leaders like Peyton, Chris and Cason and their willingness to serve and inspire others,” said Mireya Zapata, Executive Vice President at LAT.  “Peyton’s experience in Austin will be critical during what we expect to be a consequential session of the Texas Legislature.  With Chris and Cason joining the Executive Committee we are guaranteeing leadership succession and strength as we continue to lead as the voice for the Texas LBM industry at the Texas Legislature.” 

The LAT Board of Directors also approved three new Directors:  Meagan McCoy Jones, president and CEO at McCoy’s Building Supply; Taylor Gross, president at Gross-Yowell; and Phillip Steffy, president at Zarsky Lumber Co.

LAT’s Board of Directors elected Ritter and the slate of 2022 – 2023 Directors during its Summer meeting.  

They will be recognized and celebrated at the 136th LAT Convention & Expo set for Sept. 12-14, in Frisco, Texas.  More information can be found at