NLBMDA speakers get re-elected (mostly)

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

NLBMDA speakers get re-elected (mostly)

By Ken Clark - 11/30/2020
Speakers in 2017, winners in 2020.

During the recent virtual ProDealer Industry Summit hosted by the National Lumber & Building Material Dealers Association and HBSDealer, three sitting members of Congress presented to the audience of lumber dealers and suppliers.

All three were re-elected on election day.

Looking back at the participation of congressional speakers at recent NLBMDA legislative summits reveals a track-record of re-election success.

Here’s the short list of recent NLBMDA speakers who won their elections this year:

From the 2020 ProDealer Industry Summit
• Rep. Pete Staubear (R-Min.),
• Rep. Suzan DelBene (D.-Wash.)
• Rep. Jackie Watorkski (R-Ind.)

From the 2019 NLBMDA Legislative Conference:
• Rep. John Curtis (R-Utah)

From the 2018 NLBMDA Legislative Conference:
• Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa)

From the 2017 NLBMDA Legislative Conference:
• Rep. Ted Budd (R-N.C.)
•.Rep. Morgan Griffith (R.-Va.)

From the 2016 NLBMDA Legislative Conference
• Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)

Here is the much shorter list of recent NLBMDA speakers who lost in 2020:

From the 2018 NLBMDA Legislative Conference
• Rep. David Young (R-Iowa) lost elections in 2018 and 2020.

From the 2016 NLBMDA Legislative Conference
• Rep. Scott Tipton (R-Colo.), lost in the party’s primary race in 2020 to Lauren Boebert, who went on to win in November.

• Also Sen. Cory Gardner (R-Colo), who has appeared via video and in person at past NLBMDA and HBSDealer ProDealer Industry Summits, lost to Democratic challenger John Hickenlooper, a Democrat and former Colorado governor and mayor of Denver, in the 2020 election.

The 2021 ProDealer Legislative Summit is scheduled for April 13 to 16 at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill.  

Related Topics