NLBMDA elects new leaders

Orlando, Fla. -- The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) announced its new leadership team installed on Oct. 14 at the ProDealer Industry Summit here.

At the association's annual meeting, the NLBMDA board of directors elected Joe Collings, CEO of Ferguson Lumber in Rockville, Ind., as the association's new chairman, replacing outgoing chairman Dan Fesler of Lampert Yards in St. Paul, Minn.

"I am honored to serve the NLBMDA as its chairman, continuing the long tradition of leadership within the industry," Collings said. "The current economic climate certainly provides a great number of challenges for each of our independent dealers throughout the country. The NLBMDA and its federated state associations continue to provide the support for each of our dealers to survive through these difficult times in the history of our industry. Through our joint efforts we will continue to focus on our strengths in the coming year. By providing a strong united voice we will continue to work as an advocate for the industry in Washington."

As president of the Ferguson Lumber Corp. of Rockville, Collings is a longtime leader of his industry on both the state and national levels. Collings' family-owned company was founded in 1868 in west central Indiana, and resides in four locations: Veedersburg, Avon, Danville and Plainfield. A fifth-generation Ferguson, Collings is very aware of the importance of continued growth and excellence in running his business, even in very challenging economic conditions.

"I am proud to have Joe lead NLBMDA as chairman. His breadth of experience, involvement in the industry and unwavering dedication to the business will be a huge advantage for the association as NLBMDA continues to press on in this difficult economic climate," said NLBMDA president Michael O'Brien. "I also want to recognize Dan Fesler for the outstanding leadership and commitment he has provided to the association and his enthusiasm for moving NLBMDA forward. He has been an exceptional example for NLBMDA members, and we have him to thank for much of the progress made over the past year."

In addition to Collings, the other members of the 2010-2011 NLBMDA Executive Committee are:

• Chair-Elect: Cally Coleman Fromme, Zarsky Lumber Co., Victoria, Texas • First Vice Chair: Chuck Bankston, Bankston Lumber Co., Barnesville, Ga. • Second Vice Chair: Chris Yenrick, Smith-Phillips Building Supply, Winston-Salem, N.C. • Treasurer: Linda Nussbaum, Kleet Lumber Co., Huntington, N.Y. • Manufacturers & Services Council Chair: Carlos Guilherme, Weyerhaeuser Company, Federal Way, Wash. • Federated Association Executives Chair: Chris Quinn, Kentucky Building Materials Association, Louisville, Ky. • Immediate Past Chair: Dan Fesler, Lamperts, St. Paul, Minn. • President: Michael O'Brien, NLBMDA, Washington, D.C. 

Login or Register to post a comment.