Dealers, vendors honored by NLBMDA

The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) recognized several of its members on Oct. 1 at an awards dinner and ceremony during the ProDealer Industry Summit. Jesse Brand, president of Brands Inc. in Columbus, Ind., received the outstanding leadership award for his efforts on behalf of the Lumber Dealers Political Action Committee (LuDPAC), whose fundraising efforts during the 2006 election cycle brought in more than $135,000. Brand is also a past chair of NLBMDA.

Two Industry Leader in Safety awards were given by the NLBMDA, each one selected by a committee of safety experts. Curtis Lumber in Plattsburgh, N.Y., won the honors for a lumberyard with more than 50 employees. Sanford and Hawley in Unionville, Conn., an operation with less than 50 employees, was also recognized for its safety practices.

The Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Manufacturers and Services Council (MSC) member went to John Somerville of Dow Chemical in Marietta, Ga. Somerville was credited for developing new initiatives and programs to bring together NLBMDA dealers and vendors.

The LBM Institute, the educational and research arm of the NLBMDA, also recognized three companies for their support: Dow Chemical, ITW Building Components and iLevel by Weyerhaeuser.

Going forward, the NLBMDA board has decided to suspend the activities of the LBM Institute until economic conditions improve. “We’re not disbanding it,” association president Michael O’Brien told Home Channel News. “It’s just going to be dormant.”

The LBM Institute’s primary initiative, a universally recognized “eco stamp” for lumber and other green building issues, will be moved under the NLBMDA umbrella. O’Brien said.

The NLBMDA board also voted to change the organization to a federated structure. Building material dealers will no longer be able to join through “direct” memberships, a source of some contention in the past. Members must now join the NLBMDA through regional trade associations that are affiliated with the national organization.

Login or Register to post a comment.